Extradition Music

Get me to Reno and Bring it in Low, cont’d

Posted in Uncategorized by Extradition Music on April 20, 2010

After posting that video of Tom Waits signing “Hang on St. Christopher,” a friend and fellow Reno-ite wrote this about his interaction with the man himself:

I saw Waits live last year, front row while I was still living in Spain.  A lot of people were screaming things to him, but he wasn’t too responsive.  Towards the end of his set I yelled, “Greetings From Reno.”  He immediately perked up and said, “Greeting From Reno?  Greetings Back To Reno.  Reno’s got all my money.  Reno’s the only place you can get false teeth in a pawn shop.  But that’s now where I got mine.”  It was like slow motion and I had a perma-grin on my face.  At the end of the show I got to shake his hand.  Awesome performance.  That was his “Glitter & Doom” tour.

You can read more about Waits’ affection for Reno in his songs here.

Leave a Reply

