Extradition Music

A Great weekend for the Alt-Country/Americana/Rockabilly scene in weekend, part 1

Posted in Uncategorized by Extradition Music on May 3, 2010

This weekend was great for a lot of reasons, but I was especially excited to see all of the bands that were in town at various venues.  Friday night had Nancy Griffith, the Queen of Folkabilly, playing at the Nugget in Sparks.  It was a little sleepy, but she did jam out some great country songs towards the end.  And she played “Trouble in the Fields,” which a friend introduced to me a few years ago and I have loved since.  It was an older crowd, but an appreciative one.  Of course, Griffith’s voice was amazing too. 

For a number of reasons I chose to go see that show over another one that I really wanted to go to, scheduled at the same time.  The Johnny Cash tribute band Cash’d Out played Friday night at the Knitting Factory and I had at least three people offer me free tickets.  Everyone I talked to who went said that it was amazing, and that the band was about as spot-on as you could have asked for.  Like I said, I really wanted to go, but in the end it came down to this: I missed the chance to see Cash play live while he was alive, so seeing a tribute band couldn’t compare to a chance to see one of the truly great country/folk performers play in a small showroom while she remains with us.  It really was a hard choice.  I heard that there were over a thousand people there, which is promising for what we are trying to do.

Leave a Reply

