Extradition Music

“Welcome to the Rock Show…”

Posted in Uncategorized by Extradition Music on May 9, 2010

That’s how I hope Patterson Hood opens the Drive-By Truckers show tonight.  That’s how he does it on their first live album, and how he did it at the one live performance I’ve ever seen them play (Bonnaroo ’08).  As one of my favorite bands, I have to say, I like it as a sort of calling card.

More than that, though, I am way more excited to see what a Drive-By Truckers show on Mother’s Day is going to sound like.  I am of the opinion that bands that tour as much as the Truckers do look for chances like holidays to change up their shows from the routines that they play night after night around the country.  If so, Are they going to play “18 Wheels of Love” or their song about the Avon Lady, the two songs that most explicitly refer to his mama?  Or they could play “Daddy Learned to Fly” for the mama’s they left at home while they are off touring.  Since it is in Tahoe, not really a place known for its alt-country shows, they could just decide to relax a little bit and play some standards.  I really don’t know, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been thinking about it a whole lot over the last few weeks.

Whatever the case, I hope they play some old stuff.  I want to hear something off of “Gangstabilly” or “Pizza Deliverance”.  They are so prolific that there is no way that they can fit a representative sampling of all of their music into one show, but those albums are two of my favorites.  I guess my expectations are high, but with a band like the DBTs, I think that is my right.

In the meantime, feast on this:

Leave a Reply

